top of page
Writer's pictureMelanie Haid

Add These 23 Songs to Your Engagement Party Playlist

Updated: Sep 17, 2021



 

There's no better way to celebrate a marriage proposal than with an engagement party featuring the perfect Spotify playlist. Your engagement song list should include a fair amount of classics, dance songs and wedding songs. These upbeat, romantic songs add a great backdrop to celebrating the beginning of this new stage in your life together.

If you're still on the hunt for the perfect band or DJ to play your wedding, or would even like one for your engagement party, look no further than The Knot Marketplace for vendors in your area. With reviews and more information, you'll be sure to find the music—and music pros—that are perfect for you.


"Marry You," Bruno Mars


Lyrics you'll love: "Hey baby, I think I wanna marry you/Is it the look in your eyes or is it this dancing juice?/Who cares, baby, I think I wanna marry you"\


What better song to say "let's get married" than one titled "Marry You?" This upbeat and playful song is a great one to add to your pre-wedding day celebration.

"I Was Made for Loving You," Ed Sheeran


Lyrics you'll love: "'Cause I was made for loving you/Even though we may be hopeless hearts just passing through/Every bone screaming I don't know what we should do/All I know is, darling, I was made for loving you"


Tori Kelly and Ed Sheeran come together with their beautiful voices and musicianship with this track, a nice slow song that emphasizes that when you know, you just know!


"H.O.L.Y.," Florida Georgia Line


Lyrics you'll love: "I never meant to cry, started losing hope/But somehow baby, you broke through and saved me/You're an angel, tell me you're never leaving/Cause you're the first thing I know I can believe in"


It doesn't get more romantic than these lyrics, especially if you're a country music fan. Add this song to your engagement song playlist!

"All of Me," John Legend


Lyrics you'll love: "'Cause all of me/Loves all of you/Love your curves and all your edges/All your perfect imperfections/Give your all to me/I'll give my all to you/You're my end and my beginnin'"


There's little more romantic than John Legend's "All of Me," a love-song favorite with over 1.5 billion streams on Spotify—and for good reason. The lyrics are incredibly poetic and romantic, making this a perfect song for the occasion.

"Lover," Taylor Swift


Lyrics you'll love: "Ladies and gentlemen, will you please stand?/With every guitar string scar on my hand/I take this magnetic force of a man to be my lover/My heart's been borrowed and yours has been blue/All's well that ends well to end up with you/Swear to be overdramatic and true to my lover"


The title track of her 2019 album, Swift's lyrics pay homage to saying vows; a fitting foreshadow to the big day ahead!

"You're Still the One," Shania Twain


Lyrics you'll love: "Ain't nothin' better/We beat the odds together/I'm glad we didn't listen/Look at what we would be missin'/They said, "I bet they'll never make it"/But just look at us holding on/We're still together, still going strong"


Twain's 1997 hit from her album, Come on Over, is great for celebrating long-term relationships turned engagement.

"My Girl," The Temptations


Lyrics you'll love: "I've got sunshine on a cloudy day/When it's cold outside I've got the month of May/I guess you'd say/What can make me feel this way?/My girl (my girl, my girl)/Talkin' 'bout my girl (my girl)"


This classic will have everyone up and dancing; it's definitely withstood the test of time with its catchy lyrics and melody, not to mention the sweet sentiment that nothing is as bad as it seems with "my girl" by your side.


"Crazy Little Thing Called Love," Queen


Lyrics you'll love: "This thing called love/I just can't handle it/This thing called love/I must get 'round to it/I ain't ready/Crazy little thing called love"


This song from Queen will have you and your guests feeling the groove. It's got catchy vocals, guitar riffs and that classic rock feel—with the addition of that crazy little thing called love that you're celebrating.

"Fresh Eyes," Andy Grammer


Lyrics you'll love: "So suddenly I'm in love with a stranger/I can't believe that she's mine/Now all I see is you with fresh eyes, fresh eyes/So suddenly I'm in love with a stranger/I can't believe that she's mine, yeah/And now all I see is you with fresh eyes, fresh eyes"


Love at first sight makes you see everything differently, and Andy Grammer's 2016 hit is all about how seeing someone for the first time can change your life. It's a fun, catchy song, and a great addition to your engagement party playlist.


"I Swear," All-4-One


Lyrics you'll love: "And I swear by the moon and the stars in the skies/I'll be there/And I swear like the shadow that's by your side/I'll be there/For better or worse, 'til death do us part/I'll love you with every beat of my heart/And I swear"


This 90s hit makes the perfect addition to any nearly-newlywed's celebrations; similar to vows, this song makes sure that your partner knows you're devoted to them and you're not going anywhere.

"Leave the Door Open," Bruno Mars, Anderson .Paak and Silk Sonic


Lyrics you'll love: "I ain't playing no games/Every word that I say is coming straight from the heart/So (if you) if you (tryna) tryna lay in these arms"


This jazzy, upbeat pop song is a collaboration between some of the most talented artists of today—but feels like a throwback to some of the soul classics we all know and love. The catchy melody and Mars' unmistakable voice make it another great addition.


"We Found Love," Rihanna


Lyrics you'll love: "Shine a light through an open door/Love and life I will divide/Turn away 'cause I need you more/Feel the heartbeat in my mind/It's the way I'm feeling I just can't deny/But I've gotta let it go"


If you want some more party songs thrown in there, "We Found Love" is a nice, upbeat addition while still maintaining a romantic vibe. And because the lyrics are so easy to remember, your loved ones will certainly sing along to this engagement song!

"And I Love Her," The Beatles


Lyrics you'll love: "She gives my everything/And tenderly/The kiss my lover brings/She brings to me/And I love her/A love like ours/Could never die/As long as I/Have you near me"


This classic Beatles tune is a great addition to your celebration of love. With sweet lyrics and unforgettable instrumentals, guests of all ages will love this one.


"Marry Me," Train


Lyrics you'll love: "Forever can never be long enough for me/To feel like I've had long enough with you/Forget the world now, we won't let them see/But there's one thing left to do/Now that the weight has lifted/Love has surely shifted my way/Marry me/Today and every day"


After your proposal, the only thing that's left to do is say "I do"—and love your partner every day after. The lyrics are poetic and speak for themselves, but it's a lovely addition to any love song playlist.

"Butterflies," Kasey Musgraves


Lyrics you'll love: "I was just coastin', never really goin' anywhere/Caught up in a web, I was gettin' kind of used to stayin' there/And out of the blue/I fell for you/Now you're liftin' me up, 'stead of holdin' me down/Stealin' my heart, 'stead of stealin' my crown/Untangled all the strings, round my wings, that were tied/I didn't know him and I didn't know me/Cloud nine, was always out of reach/Now I remember what it feels like to fly/You give me butterflies"


You still get butterflies when you're around them, and this sweet song with a bit of country twang perfectly encapsulates that feeling. Your partner makes you feel your best, and that makes this song another great addition to your engagement party playlist.

"Loving is Easy," Rex Orange County


Lyrics you'll love: "Yeah, loving is easy/When everything's perfect/Please don't change a single little thing for me/Listen girl/When you can't even hide it/And it didn't take forever to find it/I was all on my own/Almost glad to be alone/Until love came in on time, on time"


Another song about unexpected love, when you're with the right person, love is as easy as the title suggests. This song has great lyrics that will make you feel even more in love.

"I Like Me Better," Lauv


Lyrics you'll love: "Midnight into morning coffee/Burning through the hours talking/Damn, I like me better when I'm with you/I like me better when I'm with you/I knew from the first time, I'd stay for a long time 'cause/I like me better when/I like me better when I'm with you"


"I Like Me Better" was electro-pop artist Lauv's breakout hit in 2017, and it's for good reason. It's about how you're the best version of yourself with your other half, so it's a perfect upbeat song to add to your party, as well as the wedding reception later on!

"Thinking Out Loud," Ed Sheeran


Lyrics you'll love: "When my hair's all but gone and my memory fades/And the crowds don't remember my name/When my hands don't play the strings the same way, mm/I know you will still love me the same/'Cause honey your soul can never grow old, it's evergreen/Baby your smile's forever in my mind and memory"


It's true, people fall in love in mysterious ways - and it wouldn't be any love song compilation without Ed Sheeran's "Thinking Out Loud." It's about growing old together and knowing that, after everything else fades away, your love never will. The lyrics are really beautiful, and it's a hit most guests will recognize!

"Love on Top," Beyoncé


Lyrics you'll love: "Baby it's you/You're the one I love/You're the one I need/You're the only one I see/Come on baby it's you/You're the one that gives your all/You're the one I can always call/When I need to make everything stop/Finally you put my love on top"

When someone puts you first, it feels like nothing else. Beyonce's R&B hit is another great song to celebrate your love, not to mention the buildup and key changes that will have everyone singing along.

"Like Real People Do," Hozier


Lyrics you'll love: "I will not ask you where you came from/I will not ask you and neither would you/Honey just put your sweet lips on my lips/We should just kiss like real people do"


Add a little alternative/indie love song to your engagement party songs playlist, with Hozier's unforgettable voice, sweeping vocals and soft instrumentals.

"Engagement Party," Justin Horowitz


Lyrics you'll love: [Instrumental]


If you're looking for something on the classical side, this La La Land instrumental is accurately titled for the occasion! It's a beautiful piano piece that makes a great proposal song too.

"Everything," Michael Bublé


Lyrics you'll love: "And in this crazy life, and through these crazy times/It's you, it's you, you make me sing/You're every line, you're every word, you're everything"


Your new future spouse is everything to you, and this classic love song from the king of romance himself expresses just that. It's a nice, upbeat tune, perfect to celebrate you and your spouse with your loved ones—and it also makes a great first dance song for the big day!

"Make You Feel My Love" by Adele


Lyrics you'll love: "When the rain is blowing in your face/And the whole world is on your case/I could offer you a warm embrace/To make you feel my love"


Adele's gorgeous vocals take center stage on this cover of a Bob Dylan classic. This song adds an emotional punch to your engagement party playlist.


1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page